September 3, 2012

  • They love me long time @ Saigon 48…well atleast my mouth.

    Saigon 48
    PH: 212-247-8669

    234 West 48th Street
    New York, NY 10036

    saigon1

    I was hungry in the office and wanted to try something new other than my usual stomping grounds. Admittedly i was in the mood for some fried rice, and Panda’s always sooooo expensive…(Panda being my favorite fried rice). A co-worker whom is also a foodie recommended Saigon 48′s House fried rice…and told me of its wonderful ingredients…AND A PRICE TAG OF 4 DOLLARS CHEAPER THAN PANDA! so WHY NOT?!?!

    saigon2 saigon3
    Food came fast, and HOT! even the bag was hot, i couldn’t wait to dig into it. me was shtarvin!

    saigon4

    saigon5

    Vietnamese Crispy Spring Rolls (2): These were HUGE! in comparison to what i’m use to. love the crunchy crispy skin, and the innards were quite hot and tasty too.They were good, but not 4 dollar good…$3.95

    saigon6
     

    saigon7
    The fish sauce that they supplied for dipping the spring rolls was really good.
    saigon8
    Thai Iced Tea: was also good. Wasn’t overly sweet and you could taste the tea…very dark and rich. $2.95

    saiogon9

    House Fried Rice (with shrimp, chinese sausage and egg): This was really good. I mean it’s definitely different from young chow (young chow has chicken, shrimp, pork, and mushrooms) but it hit the spot. The saltiness of the sausage and the freshly cooked shrimp made the fragrant rice really good…and the onions bursted with juice to help accent the ochestra of this fried rice. It’s the little details that bring this dish forth to wholesome goodness….mmmmm greasy. $7.95

    saigon10

    My favorite thing about fried rice is when a restaurant doesn’t skimp on ingredients…and this fried rice was lacking in no way.

    Summation: I admit, the fried rice is really really good…not as good as Panda…but for 4 bucks less, it’s definitely easily swaying me into getting it over Panda.

    If you require a fried rice fix, i would definitely recommend this joint, and i definitely look forward to trying other items that my co-worker has recommended. 0_o *droolage.

    CHEERS!

Comments (5)

  • The spring rolls look like a rip off. The rice looks good but I think you can get a better deal at one of those fast food asian stands in flushing (1-1.50 for a large box of fried rice)

  • @nepenthium - WORD!! but these are midtown prices…and i can’t just leave the office (midtown) to go to flushing…Best fried Rice in Flushing is definitely Canton Gourmet’s Golden Fried rice with gold raisins…but that’s also like 11 bucks. Where’s your favorite place to get Specialty fried rices? I’m thinking…i kinda doubt these 1-1.50 fried rices would be as good as the specialty one’s i’m getting…*shrug, but i’m willing to try your suggestions! let me knowz. :D

  • Yeah they’re not as good as restaurant grade rice (no shrimp or any fancy stuff) but fried rice isn’t something gourmet in the first place so I don’t mind. When I was still living in NY I liked the fast food stands on main street (diagonally across from the library & underneath the train station bridge). They have really good deals like the fried rice, buns, skewered meat, and fried pancakes that are all under $2. Good spot for a quick lunch break.

  • Omgg the fried rice looks like heaven. I loooove Chinese sausage!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *