|
|
|
Cafe Triskell PH: 718-472-0612
|
33-04 36th Avenue Astoria, New York 11105
|
![cafet1]()
So ever since the first time i’ve been here, i’ve always wanted to go back…FINALLY an opportunity and enough light to take decent pictures…still with cell phone woot, time to try some new things!!!! |
![ctriskelr1]()
This is a must get everytime you’re here. MUST GET IN MOUF! (careful though, really hot.)
|
![ctriskelr4]()
Was really good last time, was really good this time. Definitely recommend if foie gras is your cup of tea!
|
![ctriskelr2]()
(Snails, prosciutto, herb butter) served with Toasted bread. Sorry no pics of the bread, but this is soooooo goood… the snails are soooooo succulent. best part is taking the toasted bread and dipping into the herb butter concoction…GENIUS!
|
![ctriskelr3]()
| Mussels a la Nage: $18.95 |
![ctriskelr5]()
I admit, i’m a mussel fiend, and this place makes them really good. This is the dinner portion. and the french fries are to die for, you can ask them for ketchup or better yet…dip them in the mussel broth…*drooling on keyboard nao….
|
![ctriskelr6]()
![ctriskelr7]()
Yesh, we were uber full…but there’s always room for dessert!!! lol.
|
![ctriskelr8]()
This was really good, too much for me, but i think anyone that likes poached pear will love this crepe rendition.
|
![ctriskelr9]()
This is by far my favorite crepe here…no matter how full i am, i can definitely dog this…sooo goood…sooo lemony….sooo good…*tear.
|
![ctriskelr10]() |
Summary: hahaha admittedly i think the only new items i tried was the escargot and the poached pear…both were a great addition to the items i love getting at this place.
Though what i really want to try is their steak, crab cakes, duck….oh wait…i should just say the rest of the menu ![]()
I highly recommend this joint…it’s really great for dates and small groups of maybe 6 at most? Great environment, lovely neighborhood (on that street…don’t stray! )
CHEERS!!!!
|
May 3, 2012
-
 Somedays, i’m just lazy so i just dice up some ham, loosely stir some raw eggs in a bowl, add some salt, add some pepper, toss it all in around in a skillet, throw it on a plate while it’s still runny. Add Toast and a huge cup of Cafe Du Monde as accomplices, in This Usual Suspects pic on a lazy breakfast morning day…. but don’t think for a minute the laziness deters from the amazing taste and satisfaction of a lazy mouthgasm. and i’m almost positive you wouldn’t mind either.  |
April 26, 2012
-
 Great lunch to give me much needed energy for the day…a sprinkle of parm and i’m in heaven from my favorite mom and pop pizza joint, J&D.  |
April 19, 2012
-
 Had the hot dogs at Costco with Alpha and Lawless for $1.50 you get a huge dog and unlimited refill soda….pretty nice. What could top that?
 The Italian sausage definitely tops that. at $2.79 this sausage dog is really good…comes with sauteed onions and peppers…(their Berry Smoothie is very very good too $1.45 DELICIOUS!)
 got to love it when you take a bite and the sausage just snaps in your mouth….
 Good grief, sometimes in the mornings on my way to work i just stop by costco and pick up Italian Sausage dogs for everyone in the office….they are THAT GOOD!…and it doesn’t help that Costco is only 2 blocks away from my house….LOVE COSTCO!!! |
April 12, 2012
-
 Crunch munch munch. sooooooo very goood…soooo easy to make. 
April 9, 2012
-

I’ve had Falafels in Australia, Austria, CANADA, other states and a bunch of places in NYC…and all have finally told me…i don’t like falafels…i hate their consistency, i hate their flavor…i just hate them. Then a coworker had told me that a famous falafel guy that had won the vendy for 2010…i was curious to try…and check it out, He decided to open up an Express Cart near my office (express meaning there is no rice, however, he does say that he is thinking of adding rice in the future.) I recommend you go early when they open at 11am…as the line grows EXPONENTIALLY as time progresses. Coolest thing is, as the line gets longer, him or his partner walk around handing out Falafels.
|

| Falafel & Schwarma Mixed over salad (plates include salad [Salads include lettuce, tomato, onions, pickled turnips and green pickles], pita, tahini sauce, white sauce and hot sauce [you pick the sauces you want on it]) $8.00 |

THIS WAS GOOOOOOD! I got it with hot sauce. first things first, mix it all up and stuff it into the Pita bread that they give you.
|

| oh man, i admit i wish he served it with rice, but stuffing it into the pita was quite enjoyable too. You really get the snap/crunch of the pickled turnip and pickles…as the sour-ness compliments the salty and spice…all tempered by the cool lettuce leaves. I really enjoyed this. |

Admittedly i did not put any falafels in my pita…because i couldn’t stop myself from eating them all before they would have made it into my pita. These are by far the best Falafels i’ve ever had…the crispy warm exterior is the best flavoring i’ve had of a falafel, followed by the warm innards just was so warm and welcoming…like eating homecooking…chickpeas at their best.
|

Summation: I would just return to this cart for these falafels alone. that’s how good they are…and let me tell you, i hate falafels…but these were absolutely delicious.
The meats themselves were pretty good, and i felt they accented the falafels really well, lol. I’m looking forward to trying either the Astoria location with rice or perhaps he’ll have rice sooner at the express location in Manhattan.
HAPPY EATING!!! CHEERS!!! 
|
April 5, 2012
-
 I found a dry rub up in Maine. I’ve put it on my grilled chicken, steak, wings and now porkchops…it’s ridiculous how a simple rub can turn anything into something so ridiculously delicious (please refrain from the twss jokes…..) next up, gonna try it on tofu.  |
April 2, 2012
-


| Bacon ‘N Cheese Double Steakburger (a double steakburger with melt american cheese and hickory smoked bacon. served with fries) $4.79 |

| Frisco Melt (Two Steakburgers with American and swiss cheeses, on buttery grilled sourdough with our sweet ‘n tangy Frisco sauce. Served with fries) $6.48 |

| The burger was good, but nothing to wow about. But for the price…it’s definitely a GREAT burger for it’s price in the middle of Manhattan. |

| This by far…stole the show. The frisco melt was really good. the sauce, the cheeses, the two steak patties….ridonkulously good. |
| Summation: The fries are definitely ‘eh’ but the prices really make this pretty worth while. I highly recommend the Melts…but be advised…this location has a shortened menu, they don’t have everything that is on their website, so keep that in min before you trek next to the Late Show.
CHEERS! |
March 29, 2012
-
When i was younger, i would always eat scrambled eggs or sometimes even omelets…NEVER sunnyside or over easy…
 I use to find it so gross, especially when my older sister would always get sunnyside up eggs and slurp the yolk…*shudders…. (sometimes i think she did that on purpose to gross me out…don’t even let me tell you about chocolate ice cream…*shudders twice)
 Now i understand and can’t get enough of it myself…dipping my toast into it… or best is homemade corned beef hash with it….sooooo gooooood. LOL |
March 22, 2012
-
For some reason i have always loved mac and cheese from a box.
 Perhaps cause of nostalgic reasons? don’t get me wrong, i love the pasta and admit i sometimes grate my own cheese concoction instead of using their powder…but its always something about mac and cheese from a box that always has me coming back for more…
 and after figuring out that the type of milk and type of butter you use controls how good this comes out….i, ultimately, do keep coming back for more…
|
|